The Whitefort Bar and Restaurant

21 Comments | Last Updated 17th November 2011 | Added 10th August 2007 | Edit Details | Edit Photos

The Whitefort Bar and Restaurant

The Whitefort Inn is a crowded, spacious and convivial pub best known for its full houses and cheerful Belfast accents which can amount to as many as three hundred on any given night. It was reopened in 2003 having been newly refurbished by its owners, The Rooney Brothers, over the previous two years.


There are three bars in total. Located at the front of the building the public bar is spacious and has wide screen plasmas showing sport and music. The main bar has a great atmosphere for live sports or just a night out. All the major gaelic and soccer fixtures are shown as well as live football on Saturdays, Sundays and Mondays during the football season, Horse racing and big fight boxing can be watched on one of five big screens, or you can just enjoy the latest music videos.


Theres live music on weekends as well as The Record Club on Fridays. On Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays you are advised to get there early as the full house signs are commonly seen at the front doors on these nights. Best of all, there is always great fun with a lively atmosphere.


The Whitefort Inn is the home of the award winning Copper One Restaurant - named after a historic Belfast eatery. Both bar and restaurant are open daily. There are late bars until 1.00am on weekend nights.

Information and Contact Details

Category
Mixture
Address
71 Andersonstown Road
Belfast
Post Code
BT11 9AH
Distance From Belfast City Hall
4.1 km
Email

Tags for The Whitefort Bar and Restaurant

Find similar bars using these tags

Map Showing the Location of The Whitefort Bar and Restaurant

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of The Whitefort Bar and Restaurant.

Is this the wrong position for The Whitefort Bar and Restaurant? If you think so, then suggest to modify its position.

Rating

Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

50
36 Votes

Customer Comments and Reviews of The Whitefort Bar and Restaurant

There now follows 21 comments about The Whitefort Bar and Restaurant. You can also (no signup required).

a proper bar proud to live in ANDERSONSTOWN

Submitted by ann on 8th April 2016

love the whitefort its brillant the foods lovely the staff are very nice people.The strawberry daquiri r beautiful just love it

Submitted by alex mc hugh on 26th March 2013

Ate in Copper One the other night, ordered surf'n'turf. Steak was tough and I got 4 prawns which counted as the surf. Chips were cold and looked like the dregs from the bottom of the pan. �£19.95 is city centre prices but not getting city centre service. Pity as the waiting staff were very pleasant.

Submitted by CK on 10th January 2013

Went to Whitefort for after wedding food and drinks.... on Thurs 30th Aug 2012....

I must say the Staff were very pleasant nothin was to much for them.....

The food was ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL ... Steaks done to perfection ...

Defo A********* for Food and Drink..An wud defo go bac.... Also the decor is Beautiful and welcoming

Submitted by Kerry McClenaghan on 31st August 2012

a carvery means the chef cuts the meat in front of you otherwise food is excellent the drink is reasonably priced worth a go

Submitted by sean on 3rd July 2012

must say this is quality a classy spot fit for andytown food and drink are first class and reasonably priced getting spoilt again

Submitted by lana on 4th May 2012

as frank carson says its a cracker a cracking bar and the best food in belfast carvery on sunday is a must

Submitted by rabby on 1st April 2012

totaly agree with ur last reviewer put the carvery up stairs on sunday cause people cant get moving with those lonely football persons in the way its only common sense

Submitted by jim mc on 28th March 2012

what about this are u ready [8'95] for the 2course carvery mountains of real food would u bother making it only problem is its on sunday in the bar whats wrong with up stairs far more room and quieter and no sad football people to listen to full marks

Submitted by sammy on 10th March 2012

went to the white fort on sunday what a spot had the carvery cheapest on the road and best food superb no complaints gave it a go if it suits me it must be good and are u ready guinness 3 quid a pint can say no more many thanks dont tell everyone bye bye goodfellows and the temple half a bap is better than no bap

Submitted by ann mc g on 4th March 2012

went to the white fort on friday night couldent beleave my eyes a lovely bar but the people must have been out of borstal black eyes broken bones i was told i was to late as the fighting had stopped 1 hour ago no bouncers to be seen but the guinness was good

Submitted by criss cross on 3rd March 2012

Went to the Whitefort on Saturday night for the first time, recommended by a friend it was brilliant!! My friends and I aren’t from West Belfast so it was our first time there instead of going to Belfast city centre. Apart from the bitchy, overweight girls who were clearly jealous of me and my friends!

Music was great, staff were great craic and the toilets were nice and clean!!

Will be back to try the food after reading the other reviews.....Note to the doormen and owners, please beware of who you let in. Although we had a good night, some of the people did intimidate us a little, but we just ignored them and had a brill night!

Submitted by Julie Moore on 6th February 2012

whitefort andytown top class food good drink pricey full of wimps good for a scrap but u have to book your corner not a bad spot drank in worse

Submitted by big john on 29th January 2012

Since taking over by Mark and the boys the pub is now very glamerous and stylish has taken on a new ambiance now it is in a class of it's own. Had a lovely meal and the crack was 90. Good luck for the future........

Submitted by cecelia mcveigh on 30th November 2011

wEDNESDAYS POKER TOURNAMENT IS GREAT CRAIC AND THE PLATERS VERT FRIENDLY CROWD. GIVE IT A TRY AND SEE.

Submitted on 23rd October 2010

I think your comment is too late dympna, since the new owners took over the fights have stopped, its now a family pub and the food has improved (though the food was always good)

Submitted by Pat on 18th July 2010

Iv been a fan of the whitefort for the past 6 and a half years its been open and all i can say is how horrible it is that such a grand and beautiful bar can so easily be run into the ground. I hope it gets brought back up to its potential, its a shame to see a fight outside every week. All I can say is God help those poor bar staff!

Submitted by Dympna on 28th January 2010

the place to be on a sunday nite.. woman in it both customers an staff are hot stuff.. seriously needs checked out guys... excellent entertainment also bands amazing

Submitted on 22nd June 2008

long live the fort, best craic ever long may it rain as the best bar in the west

Submitted on 26th February 2008

love the fort best place about the road, bar staff and bouncers r lovely alway up for a laugh. friday nights r the best not 2 packed out. never hadda a bad nite there.

Submitted on 25th January 2008

The food upstairs is great, the jazz band they have for diners are great musicians too. Downstairs can be buzzing at the weekend, pretty dead during the week. Could do with more live music maybe. Waitresses and barmaids are hot!

Not a bad spot, one of the best in the West anyway.

Submitted on 6th November 2007

You can add your own comments or suggets edits to this page.