Northern Whig

15 reviews | Updated 21 December 2009 | Added 10 August 2007 | Request To Edit Details

  • Northern Whig

Located in the former offices of the Northern Whig newspaper and convenient to the city's fashionable Cathedral Quarter, this is an impressive bar venue of grand proportions.
The high ceilings of the old press hall have been retained - and now look down on several gigantic statues that have been salvaged from Eastern Europe and are in keeping with the scale of the building. A long bar has comfortable contemporary seating in coffee and cream, where Belfast?s trend-setters meet for drinks or a bite to eat - or you can take a pavement table on a sunny afternoon and watch the world go by, sipping cocktails or sampling something from the reasonably priced menu. Very popular with the local business fraternity for lunch and for a relaxing drink after work - and many stay on for a bite to eat.

Seats 160 (private room 40). No smoking area; air conditioning. Toilets wheelchair accessible. Children welcome. Open 10am-1am; bar food 12-9.
Directions: From front of City Hall: walk to 2nd set of traffic lights, turn right, left at next lights; cross road - Northern Whig is on the corner.

Map Showing the Location of Northern Whig

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of Northern Whig.

Is this the wrong position for Northern Whig? If you think so, then modify its position.

Get Directions to Northern Whig

Click / Tap the button above to get directions from where you are to Northern Whig.

Customer Comments and Reviews of Northern Whig


There now follows 15 other reviews of Northern Whig. You can also ... Add a Review

It's ok for a drink and some food, but I feel it always likes any sort of atmosphere. The high ceilings and open space, with the random statue make it feel more like a social in a school assembly hall than a decent bar.

Submitted by Dave on 30/06/2013

went to the whig on friday with 8 of the lads from work, had a great nite, music was good, crack was good, bar staff excellent, even the bouncers were sound except from the older heavy guy who kept walking around in circles determined to ruin the xmas atmosphere, all in all a great wee spot and i would recommend the whig to anyone.

Submitted by micky burns on 11/12/2011

Great place to meet up with friends for a meal or drink, our favourite bar! Staff are friendly especially Kate! Food good!

Submitted by Jean on 20/10/2010

Only good if you are in for a hen or stag party. Show any sign of enjoying yourself and the doormen through you out. Service is poor and would avoid. Not the sort of place to soak up Belfast's great new vibe. Try the Duke of York around the corner, or The Spaniard.

Submitted on 18/08/2010

Last time I visited, one of the doormen wouldn't let me in as he said I was too drunk. I had only had 3 pints and had no problem getting in anywhere else that night. Wasn't happy. Doormen seem to be trigger happy and enjoy exercising their power unnecessarily.

Submitted on 23/06/2010

There is some new door policy about having to wear a collared shirt.

Submitted on 29/11/2009

love this place!it may b very busy but thats what u want on a sat nite,just a nice amount of talent,have never failed to pull lol

Submitted by Alli on 20/05/2009

Seems to be in a transition period between being what was once the place to be and a chav hangout frequented by people called Soupy and Big Rab. The service is the worst I have ever experienced worldwide due to in my opinion, every female in the place ordering cocktails and therefore creating a tailback of people who just want a few beers etc. They need more staff, less chavs and some atmosphere. Avoid

Submitted on 03/10/2008

went t o the northern whig on saturday for lunch, food was amaing, i had a burger and my friend had the pasta.

We decided to come back that evening for cocktails, we were driving that afternoon, the cocktails were to die for, i had loads of different ones out of a list of about 50!!! barmen were pretty cute too (and the DJ)

Submitted on 18/09/2008

used to visit all the time a few years ago, but now its a bot run down and service not what it sed to be, let to many rough looking people in now. wont be back

Submitted by old customer on 14/07/2008

brought my friend for something to eat for her birthday. Menu looked ok. Ordered caesar salad with seared king prawn to start - very disappointing - prawns were tasteless. Both had ribeye for mains with chips and wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli - ribeye was beautiful as were chips but most of potatoes were still raw. When told waitress starter was disappointing and potatoes weren't cooked she did not seem too bothered. Declined the offer of dessert as meal so disappointing. Decided to have a cocktail instead, ordered 2 pina coladas - had to send them back as they were awful. Barman was pleasant enough and offered to try them again - 2nd attempt much better but did nothing to encourage me to go back.

Submitted on 11/07/2008

I've been here a few times coz its a good place to meet if you're actaully going somewhere good like the Duke of York or Whites. There's nothing really wrong with the place except that it has no soul and looks a bit like a school dinner room. Its a good place to go if you're a wearing a ben sherman shirt and want to pretend you are somebody. The only problem is that everyone in there is pretending to be somebody. So you get two guys who both left school at 16 and work as civil servants telling each other they're minted. At least their girlfriends can discuss the latest fake tan. Just wear your comfy shoes and head to the Tavern.

Submitted by AJ on 08/01/2008

Visited this place during a "crawl" after a works doo the other week. It was WAAAY too busy! You could hardly get around in the place nevermind the chance of a seat! There were people 4 and 5 think ALL along the bar and getting served was a TOTAL headache... Saying that, the toilets wernt bad considering the time of night and the volume of people in there. Drinks were on the expensive side too.

Plenty of nice looking women in there, but also a few hundred blokes too. So if your on the pull... Avoid (unless your a bird/of the homosexual persuasion)

Submitted by Tomski on 21/12/2007

Met friends here recently for a saturday outing,and I was really pleased with the food and the service. We all had mains and desserts and quite a few drinks and it was £25 each. There was a nice relaxed saturday crowd, with no roughs or poseurs and there is plenty of room to move around. Great for a larger group of people.

Submitted by Annie Bounce on 26/11/2007

Was in the Northern Whig yesterday with a friend for a late lunch. Went in at 4pm and were the only people in the restaurant. I ordered a coke and a tap water and it took 10-15minutes to arrive....Ordered a burger and Carbonara and it took 35-40mins to come. The Carbonara was very bland and the burger nothing special..very disappointed. Have eaten there 4 times, and everytime unimpressed...will DEFINITELY not be back for a fifth time.

Submitted on 15/08/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

Contact Details

  • Web Site http://www.thenorthernwhig.com
    Category Mixture
    Address Northern Whig
      2-10 Bridge Street
      Belfast
      BT1 1LU
    Phone Number 028 90509888
    Fax Number 028 90509880

Rating

  • Current Rating : 58% (35 Votes)

    Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

    Vote