Hercules

30 reviews | Updated 09 September 2013 | Added 10 August 2007 | Request To Edit Details

  • Hercules

Hercules is a busy city centre bar which serves pub food and is often a place to find traditional Irish music on Saturday nights.

The Hercules bar takes its name from Hercules Street, the previous name for Royal Avenue which itself was named after Sir Hercules Langford.

The bar was founded in 1875 by Patrick McGlade, who, with his brother Francis, went on to establish many other licensed premises in the city. The Hercules name dates back to 1901, when it was known as the Hercules Wine and Spirit Stores.
A new restauant 'Ooomami @ the 'Herc' hs just opened in this City Centre Venue

Street View of Hercules

Modify the Street View of Hercules

Map Showing the Location of Hercules

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of Hercules.

Is this the wrong position for Hercules? If you think so, then modify its position.

Get Directions to Hercules

Click / Tap the button above to get directions from where you are to Hercules.

Customer Comments and Reviews of Hercules


There now follows 30 other reviews of Hercules. You can also ... Add a Review

super bar a bar to be proud off guinness is the best in BELFAST

Submitted by jimmy on 03/05/2017

it is great to see BELFAST buzzing again well this bar is top of my lists a great bar good food at a reasonable price the bar staff are spick n span a must see bar on SATURDAY nights free band on what more would you want

Submitted by joe seally on 20/02/2017

one of the best bars in BELFAST that does not rip you off as the saying goes you get what you pay for

Submitted by davy on 20/12/2016

when in BELFAST i always call in for a pint or three these bars are becoming hard to find the staff are all first class food very reasonable a must see bar in BELFAST Paddy the bar man looks the part

Submitted by rabydoo on 03/12/2016

top class bar the best in BELFAST the food is excellent value to you will not get a better pint of GUINNESS in BELFAST PADDY THE BARMAN is good crack

Submitted by wee jim on 30/07/2016

i have visited some bars in belfast this bar is at the top of my lists when in Belfast give it a try you will not fault it in a word SUPER

Submitted by john on 08/04/2016

i love going into this bar. The food and drink are spot on the bar staff are the most welcoming you would get in BELFAST and FREE music on a SATURDAY night as Frank Carson says its a cracker

Submitted by tommy on 25/03/2016

super bar proud to live in belfast

Submitted by bill n ben on 07/11/2015

great bar spot on in castle street this is a gamblers bar theyd bet 2 flys up the wall drink is spot on

Submitted by mike on 16/04/2012

why go to the golden mile when this we gem is here good quality barmen good food always buzzing a part of old belfast must try the guinness lovely and creamy can be a bit dodgy at night the locals can be good crack if u buy them a pint or 2

Submitted by george on 23/03/2012

bring back raymond he was the only one who kept the bar flys away wat a shame theyd let anyone drink in there must say the food is good

Submitted by willy on 03/03/2012

the hurcules bar super bar best barmen in belfast food super only problem is its full of spungers no hopers licking over a pint for 2 hours hoping somone will buy them another one harmless people but the best pint in belfast

Submitted by minto on 27/02/2012

The staff are great and they are now holding the best reggae and ska night I have ever been to and the friendliest atmosphere ever

Submitted by Rude bwoy on 04/11/2011

we tried here today after walking past it lots of times. The staff were friendly and the food was great: we had the curry and the burger and couldn't finish it. the waitress said it is a new chef. Either way, I would definitely recommend it

Submitted by mickeyc on 18/05/2011

probably a good bar if you are Irish

Submitted on 02/02/2010

The `Herc` has one of the best Irish trad sessions on a saturday night in Belfast. Some times over a dozen musicians take part and the atmosphere can be magic on some sat. nights. The bar-staff

Submitted by brianboru on 13/08/2009

Seen the menu board with a 'Classic 80's Menu' It looked good and I must sy I had an excellent homemade pate, followed by a great Chicken Maryland...no room for dessert, but they sounded great. Overall a very pleasing experienc. I will be back for one of those Knickerbocker Glories.

Submitted by Peter Malley on 01/03/2009

Recently visited 'The Herc' for something to eat in the upstairs restuarant on a Saturday, the food was tasty and good, pleasant staff and was reasonably priced. After my food i went downstairs to the public bar and it was just as good because i had good craic with the other customers and the bar man was nice. I reccommend you go there, especially on a Sunday for the cavery stlye meal.

Submitted on 17/12/2008

Down to earth food, friendly staff and woth a visit. I got a leaflet and it was worth visiting for the Carvery style meal

Submitted by Paddy Mac on 23/11/2008

Went for Lunch Saturday...Great food and great prices. The McDonald kind go with the burgers it seems. Fair enough

Submitted by Molly on 23/11/2008

Ended up in the Herc with a group of guys on a Friday night and had a great time. The bar staff were friendly and, on the Saturday night, there was a session.

Submitted by Kara on 12/11/2008

had my lunch in the herc today have to say sorry to see some of the staff away the food was just ok

Submitted by miss on 09/11/2008

was in this bar for lunch yesterday the staff were refreshing but the food was a disgrace the chips looked and tasted like mcdonalds

Submitted by jim on 09/11/2008

went to this bar today and have to say the waitresses were excellent but the food was disgusting the chips lookedlike they were razored!! and freezing cold!! oooonmammmaaa not

Submitted on 08/11/2008

I just visited this pub while on a shopping trip, great lunch and best burger I have had in a long time. Good Luck with Ooomami at the 'HERC'

Submitted by Mary Thompson on 29/10/2008

Dropped into this bar today and had what is proably the best burger I have ever had. The service was great, the presentation was superb and the price was just right. I think the restaurant was called Oomami. Well done and a great menu all round.

Submitted by Visiting Tourist on 25/10/2008

I recently visited the Hercules and was most pleased to have a wonderful lunch in this vibrant City Centre Bar

Submitted by Tony Marks on 29/09/2008

if your looking to b ignored and cold food this is the bar to go in to, the bar staff hav no respect for thier customers and certainly no how to make you feel unwelcome!!

Submitted on 24/09/2007

cold food would not go again

Submitted on 03/07/2007

I Went for a quiet lunch and it was good.... if you consider ordering food and not getting it good, i would recommend going to the hercules if you have hours to waste and like ordering your food 3 times!!

Submitted by Saz on 26/05/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

Contact Details

  • Web Site http://www.theherculesbar.com
    Category Traditional Bar
    Address The Hercules Bar
      61-63 Castle Street
      Belfast
      BT1 1GH
    Phone Number 028 90324587
    Email 

Rating

  • Current Rating : 54% (25 Votes)

    Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

    Vote