AMPM

52 reviews | Updated 04 December 2015 | Added 08 July 2005 | Request To Edit Details

  • AMPM

AM:PM is a thriving bar/bistro located in the heart of Belfast. AM:PM has established itself as one of the hottest venues in Belfast.
With a capacity for 60 people, "intimate" and "exclusive" are just two words used to describe this venue.
The interior of am:pm is dominated by various pieces of minimalist stainless steel decoration, yet it still manages to evoke a feeling of warmth and comfort. This contemporary mindset is extended throughout the food menu, and indeed the music policy.
Serving food throughout the day to shoppers and business people alike, in the evening am:pm transforms into a hip hangout to unwind and chill-out to a soundtrack of everything from Deep House to 50s Swing.

Map Showing the Location of AMPM

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of AMPM.

Is this the wrong position for AMPM? If you think so, then modify its position.

Get Directions to AMPM

Click / Tap the button above to get directions from where you are to AMPM.

Customer Comments and Reviews of AMPM


There now follows 52 other reviews of AMPM. You can also ... Add a Review

We booked a table for 5 originally and on the day of the booking were able to change both the number of covers and the booking time. Nothing was too much trouble.

I can report that all the meals looked fantastic but having chosen the goats cheese starter and the chorizo pasta main I was thrilled with the quality of the food. So pleased was I with the meal and wine that I updated my Facebook status to sing the praises of am:pm – a restaurant I have overlooked previously!

As well as delicious food the surroundings are modern but inviting, it is somewhere I could happily sit all evening, even the background music was fantastic. I will definitely return with friends and we are considering planning another work night out here in the not too distant future.

Special thanks to John for coordinating our visit and also to the two attentive waiters whose names I didn’t catch! Keep up the fantastic work.

Regards,

Deborah Aiken

Submitted by Deborah Aitken on 25/10/2010

Gorgeous wee place to enjoy good house music and a good drink!

Submitted by Tango Charlie on 09/10/2010

I arranged my last Christmas party for my staff at this location. We where not disappointed! The waitress was very attentive and always on hand, polite and giving 100% service with a smile. I think her name was Emma? Not sure, small, black hair.

The food was delicious, arriving at the same time on hot plates which takes a lot of organizing.

The food portions where just the right size although we ended up ordering more chicken gougons as they were delicious! If I had one criticism, I would recommend a wider choice on the desert menu to cater to the sweet tooth customer's! (ie- me!)

I always recommend Am Pm to friends who visit Belfast because they never disappoint. I have been frequenting Am Pm for over six years and will continue to do so.

Submitted by Liz Jordan on 05/10/2010

Went there for our engagement party

Submitted by Damian on 27/08/2010

Arrived to be told to hurry up and order. We felt pressured to order even though the rest of the group had not yet arrived. After ordering it took 55 minutes for the food to arrive.

To give them credit, the food was good.

As soon as we had finished the mains we were asked to leave as another group had arrived. Rude staff. Ended up stopping at KFC for an icecream for pudding.

Bill was very expensive. Added to this there was a service charge of £10 for 3 people. We were not aware of this charge.

Nice food, but I wont be back.

Submitted by Paying Customer on 07/08/2010

Hi John,

My daughter Sarah had her 18th birthday party with you and it didn't dissapoint. The service, food, drinks and athmosphere was suburb and a great night was had by all! What a fantasic venue !

Submitted by Brian on 16/07/2010

This place has really got its act together. Ambience, staff, food value i must say to my surprise totally top notch! Unquestionably thee best trinket of pleaseurrre in Belfast!

I will and have been back on numerous occassions and it is getting better!

Submitted by Charlie Mc Stravick on 14/07/2010

I had high hopes for this place as I love the shabby chic style but we were very disappointed. Service was good but the food was poor.

The toilets are more than shabby more dirty and generally neglected. A real shame, could be such a gem.

Submitted by Maria on 22/11/2009

We have just come back from a weekend in Belfast and ate in this bistro last night. We were extremely dissapointed. The manager seemed uninterested and spent most of the time sitting outside texting whilst the food was a let down. In fairness it was very busy as there was a christening on however we felt like we were intruding and were not really wanted there.

We ordered steak and guiness pie which came with chips and also with mash potato on top of the pie rather than pastry? I like potato's but you don't usually get mash and chips in the one meal. The veg was soggy also, I certainly would not return here. The highlight was the South African waiter who was very nice and cheery

Submitted by Gillian Lavelle on 19/10/2009

On arrival we were impressed with the decor and our order was taken quickly. We were then ignored for half an hour and on asking how much longer we were expected to wait the generic 'couple of minutes' answer was given with no apology, just an excuse about a large table being served first. The fish and chips arrived. 2 chips each. Albeit large chips. Still 2 chips. We were informed it was enough and that no one asks for more. She was correct, I could only manage 1 of the waterlogged offerings. Combined with overcooked fish, dried out peas, a generous helping of indifference from staff and filthy toilets, it was a very unsatisfactory experience.

Submitted by Caroline on 31/07/2009

living between spain and ni, olivia and i both agree that the food, staff and atmosphere in arthur street could not have been better, we only called in for a drink, had more than, ate fabulous food, drank quality wine, left happy and smiling, perfect, laid back, friendly and professional, 5*****, we cant wait to get back, thankyou.

o i thanks for the bucket!

Submitted by Alan McDonald on 26/07/2009

Love it Love it Love it!!!

THEE BEST PLACE IVE BEEN TO IN YEARS!!! DECOR FOOD AND THE BEST STAFF! SO KNOWLEDABLE!!

Submitted by Paul Rice on 15/03/2009

What a surprise!!! Never heard of it really before!! The decor is like something you would see in London! Just refurbished and the food totally took my breath away for the price!! Had bottle of wine two starters two main courses of exceptionally high standard (Try the cod

Submitted by John Kelly on 28/01/2009

AM/PM = Appalling Management / Painful Memories

I booked a party for my Daughters 21st birthday but before I called to pay the deposit they had accepted a deposit from another party so it was too bad for me and my daughter.

How Unprofessional, if you can't trust them when you make a booking I suggest you go somewhere else. And you can't trust them

Submitted by Aidan Walker on 20/01/2009

Not a great experience. Expensive for average food

Submitted by Jim on 17/10/2008

A very pleasant dining experience I must say, food was to a very high standard and very helpful staff who did not interupt but always managed to ensure you were well taken care of, I brought some business associates and will select this venue again.

Submitted by George Asten on 07/09/2008

We arrived Saturday 16th Feb just before 8pm and were told the wait would be 45min so we took a seat at the bar. Two hours later we were shown to our table. I ordered the fish cakes to start and my partner mussles. When the fish cakes arrived they were frozen solid in the middle, and on sending them back the took my partners starter "to keep it warm" when the startes returned my fish cakes were soggy and the mussles were cold, clearly they had not been kept warm. For mains the frites steak was ordered with side salad, and the seabass with rosito. The salad was wilted with no crunch to the leaves and the rosito was more like rice pudding. All in all the entire meal was disgusting, infact the worst we have ever experienced. The staff did how ever remove the fish cakes from the bill. If as much effort went into the cooking as it did on the appearence i.e. the brass pots and mugs of chips im sure the food would be excellent, however we couldn't help but feel all this presentation was there simply to draw attention from the complete rubbish the was being served.

Submitted by C. Patton on 17/02/2008

Good food at a reasonable price and always has a nice atmosphere. Have been to all the restaurants on Botanic Ave and this has the best tasting food hands down

Submitted by Dr. P Glover on 04/01/2008

great nite out, good food and good staff and didnt feel rushed which is a plus. they also have a heated smoking area so as not to make us nicotine lovers feel like outcasts and lepers.

Submitted by sarah cunningham on 08/11/2007

Initial thought was just another flash in the pan ( pardon the pun) but delicious consistent food and good service makes this one of the best in town.

Submitted by Phillip Price on 05/11/2007

Very enjoyable and excellent staff. Ive been in almost every night for 3 weeks. Thanks AmPm and all the staff

Submitted by Mick on 31/10/2007

Service was top notch, food was extremely tasty and price was very reasonable. Good to see a busy restaurant where people actually know how to treat a customer. Well done AMPM I will be back and I will reccommend it to my friends

Submitted by J Flanaghan on 23/10/2007

At a hen night in Botanic venueon sat 11th. Food was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly. Food arrived promptly and was delicious. I would highly reccommend you try AMPM

Submitted by Ally Kenny on 20/08/2007

Just awful, waited 30 minutes for lunchtime food (There is a lunchtime 'beat the clock' policy where it is claimed you dont have to pay for food if you wait more than 15 minutes). This was politely brought to the attention of a friendly male waiter who 10 minutes later sent out an incredibly rude female member of staff, who very loudly and extremely rudely argued we only waited 15 minutes. We of course paid, but the service was complete rubbish. Dont make a claim of 15 minute service when it clearly cannot be honoured. Very rude, unprofessional staff. Avoid, please, if you want quality service, dont eat here.

Submitted on 06/07/2007

Great grub quick friendly staff

Submitted by Marlo H on 06/07/2007

went there saturday night for the first,botanic that is,food was fantastic,the place was full and the service was 1st class,definately our new haunt,excellent atmosphere.

Submitted by kerri mcilhagger on 01/07/2007

Food very tasty and staff very pleasant

Submitted by P Martin on 23/06/2007

Excellent we spot

Submitted by James P on 15/06/2007

At a party on sat 9th. Food and service was very good but let down by kitchen. Far too slow. Anywhere else and I would have left but I regularly eat in Arthur St so stayed. Chefs need a kick in the backside

Submitted by Sarah on 10/06/2007

This place deserves all the praise it can get. Frequent both regularly and have never had a bad experience. Great grub and great friendly staff.

Submitted by Martin Shaw on 08/06/2007

Waited at lunchtime for over 30 minutes for food - left when nothing had arrived. The manager mumbled something about a "problem with the printer"!

Can't comment on the food - if you have 3 hours for lunch you might actually get to taste some of it - I won't be back.

Submitted by DKennedy on 31/05/2007

Normally i consider reviews a waste of time. I had not been in ampm in over two years as last time i wasnt impressed. However, I always give credit were it is due and this time the food and service was excellent. I reccommend it

Submitted by Claire J on 28/05/2007

Class, comfortable and very reasonable. Been to Botanic venue as well. Both Very consistent and welcoming. Good job!

Submitted by Sara Jennings on 16/05/2007

Smnall, comfy, friendly and food is fab

Submitted by Gabrielle Martins on 26/04/2007

This small venue is at the top end of city centre eateries

Submitted by Marianne C on 23/04/2007

Ive been to both venues, food is ecxellent in both but The larger venue in Botanic has much more friendly staff

Submitted by Helen Summers on 14/04/2007

I eat in both venues regularly and have to say without a doubt these places have the best steaks in belfast.

Submitted by Marcus B on 06/04/2007

Cracking we spot for a bite to eat

Submitted by Martin on 30/03/2007

Good food, good service and comfortable. I reccommend it

Submitted by Paddy S on 24/03/2007

Small, funky, comfortable, good food and attentive staff. Great we hideaway

Submitted by Ricky B on 14/03/2007

I have not been home in Belfast for 6 years. What a change! A friend is a regular in this cafe bar and it was the first time i was ever in it. We went for a bite to eat around 7 saturday nite with the girlfriends and another couple with the intention of going to Vaudeville afterwards to continue the evening. We did go to Vaudeville. After queuing for 15mins and waiting another 15 to get a drink and having a few drinks spilled over the ladies in our company, we decided to leave and head back. Unfortunately we didnt get our seat back but had a great nite knocking back the drinks and reminiscing. this is not the Belfast I remember with vomiting and fights in shaftsbury square each weekend. Belfast has evolved, I must admit I was worried as to where I would take my girlfriend from across the water to show what belfast has to offer. Any time I am home I will be certain to be back. Thanks for a great nite to the staff. I also have to say the doorman was the friendliest I have ever encountered. If you are in Belfast check out AmPm

Submitted by Alan Best on 12/03/2007

Go to both AMPM's on a regular basis. Food is excellent. Great cocktails in Botanic!

Submitted by C Sweeney on 10/03/2007

Great food, great craic excellent service and not a Henry Loyd or dodgy gold necklace in site. Best Birthday party I have been to. Toilets are a little small but I havent a bad word to say about the place.

Submitted by Herb stevens on 05/03/2007

First impressions were not brilliant but I must admit I have been back three or four times with friends and the service, food and interior are excellent. Try the Beat the Clock menu, there is no better value in belfast!

Submitted by Mario on 03/03/2007

I am a regular visitor to both AM PM's and i must say for ambience decor, service, atmosphere and food it is in my opinion the best all round belfast has to offer. Yes for a more upmarket gastro experience maybe cayenne or james street south hit the mark but for a total all round package and value for money id recomend ampm with confidence!

Submitted by John Kelly on 02/03/2007

A little small but the staff and service more than make up for lack of size. An intimate getaway for a quiet bite with friendly staff

Submitted by steven walker on 02/03/2007

Great night for our staff party, food excellent and service was top notch. A hidden gem

Submitted by DAVE 26 on 02/03/2007

I visted AM:PM and found the experience to be very poor. The service was pathetic and the staff obviously wanted to be somewhere else.

Submitted on 19/10/2006

Have been to both AM:PMs restaurants on a number of occassions (though not through choice). Food is average at best & the service. Well the less said the better!

Submitted by J McCann on 11/10/2006

I went there just after it opened and although the food was delicious, the service left a lot to be desired. We were at the bar ordering drinks when a senior member of staff stopped our barman from serving us so he could serve someone else. Once we got our meals, they never bothered with us again and we couldn't get a drink brought to the table. Also, it took them 45 minutes to bring us our bill. Although I loved the food, I haven't been back since because of the service.

Submitted on 10/09/2006

I have been to AM:PM several times and never been disappointed. The staff are super, the food very enjoyable and the atmosphere lush. If you are looking for somewhere intimate and relaxing you would be hard pushed to find anywhere better. Weeknights or weekends, it's been a joy to go to.

Submitted by T-L.H on 26/08/2006

There is no non-smoking section, service was good, food was excellent apart from the people who were smoking at each side of us as we ate our meal.

Submitted by Oz on 04/06/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

Contact Details

  • Web Site http://directory.visitsouthbelfast.com/ampm/
    Category Bar
    Address AM:PM
      38 Upper Arthur Street
      Belfast
      BT7 1NZ
    Phone Number 028 90249009
    Email 

Rating

  • Current Rating : 49% (31 Votes)

    Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

    Vote