Belfast Bar

Reviews Bars, Pubs and Clubs in Belfast, Northern Ireland

Fibber Magees

53 Reviews | Updated 07 July 2011 | Added 08 January 2005 | Edit Details
Fibber

Fibber Magees is found just off Blackstaff Square, at the back of Robinsons.

Fibber Magees is truly a step back in time. The peat is crackling as it burns in the huge fireplace and there's music! It's uilleann pipes, fiddle and whistle played with flamboyant precision.

Traditional musicians entertain night after night to a throng of people and the craic is always good. You can join us for a pint and live the past at Fibbers.

Mondays - Finnegans Wake from 9.30pm
Tuesdays - Dalriada from 9.30pm
Wednesdays - Real Shindig from 9.30pm
Thursday - Blackstaff from 10.30pm

Fridays
Volcalozone 5.00pm - 7.00pm
Hyland Paddy 10.30pm - 1am

Information and Contact Details

Category Traditional Bar
Address Fibber Magees: Robinsons Bar
  38-42 Great Victoria Street
  Belfast
  BT2 7BA

Street View of Fibber Magees

Modify the Street View of Fibber Magees

Map Showing the Location of Fibber Magees

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of Fibber Magees.

Is this the wrong position for Fibber Magees? If you think so, then modify its position.

Ratings

Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

end barrating of Fibber Mageesend bar51/100 115 Votes

Customer Comments and Reviews of Fibber Magees

There now follows 53 other reviews of Fibber Magees. You can also add a review yourself.

Travelled to this bar with friends from cookstown.Fibber magees is a strange bar, for a start,the Robinsons facebook page, Irish music is described as " fiddley dee" what an insult to those guys playing. Which brings me to a member of the bar staff, who I over heard saying to an American tourist, in his words..its leprecauns with guitars,seriously. In this present climate, im sure there is a lot more willing and personable people to be the front the pub.After waiting 20min for a drink,we decided to grab our coats. We ended going to the new Harp bar in the cathedral quarter, far better experience, bar staff, music and attitude..In other words, do yourself a favour and forget this pub.

Submitted by Colin Nolan on 10/01/2014

Travelled up to Belfast from County Meath the weekend just before the New Year. We headed out and found Fibber Magee's - planned to go out for 'one', but with the atmosphere, music and great Guinness, we stayed for 3 hours!! What a great spot. Hyland Paddy were brilliant too - I'll be back!

Submitted by Mathew Burke on 13/01/2013

Just wanted to tell everyone hello from a McGee in Saint Augustine, Florida, USA. Have a cold one for me!

Submitted by Terry McGee on 16/11/2012

I walked into Fibbers last Friday night and found Hyland Paddy playing. It was like stepping back in time to the eighties when they were '' Gods of The Lower Deck'' I was a regular in The Lower Deck and now i will become a regular in Fibbers. A great night for anyone and highly recommended These lads are Magic.

Submitted by Patrick Grafton on 22/08/2012

First time in Belfast we went to Fibber Magees Fri night. Atmosphere and music mighty.

We will return for the Ulster Grand prix and Fibber Magees.

See you all then.

Submitted by Isle Of Man Wheelers on 08/07/2012

I visited belfast last year... and had amazingly awesome time there... was staying in travelodge which is like 20 steps away from fibber magees... :) we went to FM every single night till we were in belfast.. we tried other places but nothing changed our minds about fibber magees! awesome music.. wonderful people.. i feel it is because of this place which had made ireland my best vacation till date!! :)

Submitted on 30/04/2012

now ur talking this is whats needed in belfast a proper bar can be abit expensive but begers cant be choosers good irish music

Submitted by stan on 15/04/2012

cracker bar good irish music thats what belfast needs no more discos

Submitted by sean og on 09/03/2012

Hi everyone saw Sean Magee playing the Fiddle in a two piece in Fibber Magees on Sunday night.He is absolutely amazing !.When are they Back or where else can i see them ?

Submitted by Tom Campbell on 28/01/2012

Visited Belfast a couple of years ago and went in Fibber McGees four nights on the trot. Great night each time, Hyland Paddy exceptional. Great atmosphere, drunk too much but what the heck. We are pensioners by the way and didn't feel in the least out of place. Looking at flights to Belfast right now as I feel a Belfast nightout coming on!!!

Submitted by Pudsey Bear on 16/10/2011

Over for the European Pipe Band Competion last weekend from Glasgow.

We had a fantastic weekend in fibber Magees. Plenty of good music and drink, also plenty of boys.

Hyland Paddy please come over to Scotland.

Submitted by Laura/Amy/Jean on 01/08/2011

I first visited Belfast a couple of years ago and enjoyed the pub and especially the band Blackthorn who were brilliant entertainers and great with the crowd. Vistied Belfast recently and found the band in Fibbers Ok but not in the same league as Blackthorn ...i hope to see them again on my next visit.

Submitted by peter cranston on 17/07/2011

Fibber magees is a great bar full off nice people who are out to have a great nights craic, Bar staff and door staff are polite and welcoming. If you ever visting Belfast try fibber magees.

Submitted by Belfast_Lad on 16/04/2011

I had the most wonderful time of my life at Fibber Magees Pub. I met all of the different bands and they were the best. I really enjoyed absolutely everyone that we met there including the employees. I wouldn't trade Fibber Magees Pub for all of the pubs in Ireland. They are the warmest, friendliest,

Submitted by Vivian D. Virgen on 20/03/2011

Had a fantastic time at Fibber Magees last friday night. Atmosphere great,band brilliant. Wonderful to see men on the dancefloor - they don't do that in Wales!! Came back Sunday, had another great laugh. Great memory of our first trip to Ireland. I want to come back!!

Submitted by Welsh girl on 17/03/2011

I was at Fibber Magee on Sunday before I left Belfast and went back to Switzerland. I met the barkeeper Declan again and he is really great in his job! Also met some other nice people and enjoyed their company. I like the atmosphere in this place. If I ever come back to Belfast I will definetly go for a Black Bush at Fibber Magee!

Submitted by Martina on 19/01/2011

sorely disapointed! my first time back to belfast for 3 yrs,looking forward to hearing blackthorn again,but in place was a band who need backing tracks to play,complete rubbish!avoid at all costs fri nights if you like irish music.

Submitted by johnny on 08/01/2011

heard a great band on monday night in december,there was nothing they couldnt do,just amazing.all in all great atmosphere and music,i will for sure be back.

Submitted by stephen on 08/01/2011

This bar can be great craic if you dont get the dodgy crowd;)

Have had some great nights here, mostly down to earth people..who dont take themselves too seriously.

Can have long waits at the bar though and can get overly packed sometimes.

Submitted on 18/12/2010

myself and three friends had a brilliant night in Fibber Macgees, one night only in Belfast, the band Dalri-ada were terrific, fiddle player never stopped moving he was one of the best ever. Drink a wee bit pricey, but with music like that, who cares. First time, won't be our last.

Submitted by Billy on 29/09/2010

love love love Fibber Magees!! this pub made my trip to Belfast, Brilliant Fun

Submitted on 27/09/2010

Went to Fibber Magees on Fri Last what a Fantastic place! My friend Mick and myself were over for the first time in Belfast from Manchester. the band Hyland Paddy made us feel very special!

We will return very soon.

Submitted by Jim Creighton on 15/09/2010

I went to Fibber Magees on the 24th of august 2010, had the best time. Quiet through the day which was lovely then it livened up at night, had the best time and made my first experience of Ireland the best one.....

Submitted on 31/08/2010

was in Belfast 11th till 13th june,went there with friends to celebrate wedding ann,found this little gem on sat nite and wot a ball we had...great band and warm friendly atmosphere...the craic was great..........one downside prices were a tad high

Submitted on 16/06/2010

We were there on last Thursday night, 3d of June before leaving Belfast. It was a great evening with live music and irish beer:) Met a nice guy who came from Southern Ireland that day with his brother and friends. They were drinking Jagermeister with RedBull:) and we had a lot of fun. Unfortunately, I didn't have a chance to say goodbye, as was leaving in a hurry:( very sorry for that...

Submitted by tall girl on 09/06/2010

excellent for pint on Friday afternoons. Excellent atmosphere, service is OK- but one downside their prices- tad expensive. Location is perfect to if you intend a bit of a pub crawl- when in Belfast we always start there move on but always make are way back later-

Submitted on 02/05/2010

went 2 this bar for my 20th birthday had a great nite bar staff and bouncers were really nice will defo be back again xxxx

Submitted by jamielee davidson on 08/03/2010

in fibber magees for the 1st time ever on sat nite.. had a ball, met in with load off scottish guys and the crac was gr8.. will definately be visiting again very soon

Submitted by leanne blackwood on 01/02/2010

Bar staff looks like never have fun. Just crappy. Empty pint glass and looking at them for 10 minutes means I need a refill please.

Submitted by jommer grogan on 14/10/2009

good craic . two small for bands .not alot of stairs to sit down . but the band hyland paddy very good . was there friday 14/8/2009. 3 pound a pint for coors . toilets was not good . not clean in the night time . bar staff good.

Submitted by mark bray on 17/08/2009

went to fibber mcgees on my hen weekend and it was fantastic cant wait to go back!!!!

Submitted by Lorna Hepburn on 22/05/2009

Had the best weekend in fibbers ,we were here from Dundee celebrating mates 40th bithday and had a ball, were here the three nights jigging away,people were so friendly.Cant wait to return.

Submitted by The Dundee 6! 40 and fabulous! on 19/05/2009

Nice pub, good music but bar staff were ignorant and really rude to the customers. Really bad customer service.

Submitted on 28/04/2009

had food and danced here last night . brill crack.

Submitted on 25/04/2009

had both saturday and sunday night at fibbers maggee and must be best place to drink in belfast

Submitted by gary on 06/01/2009

We are all heading to Fibbers on Boxing Night!

just heard The Hyland Paddy Band will be there !!!Brill !!!

The Girls in PinK !!!

Submitted by Nula Quinn on 03/12/2008

THIS IS A GREAT, FRIENDLY PLACE. BLACKSTAFF REALLY GET THE CROWD GOING!! THE PLACE HAS LOADS OF CHARACTER AND A BUZZING ATMOSPHERE. ITS JUST A SHAME, IT GETS SO PACKED, BUT WHAT THE HELL, ITS WORTH BEING SQUASHED AND DRINKS SPLIT UPON TO BE IN THERE!!!!!

BLACKSTAFF SANG 'THE CRAIC WAS 90 IN THE ISLE OF MAN' FOR US. THE CRAIC IS 90 IN FIBBERS TOO!!!

Submitted by PEDRO-I.O.M. AIPORT FIRE SERVICE on 16/11/2008

Just love this place!!!!!! go quite regularly especially saturday night 'blackstaff' FANTASTIC.

Submitted on 26/10/2008

Had my Hen Night at Fibbers recently and it was brill.

The Band Hyland Paddy were playing and were fantastic. They made my night. When are they back so I can go and see them again.

Submitted by Jill on 11/10/2008

Love Fibbers. Have friends coming up on monday night and wondering if it's good to take them there?

Submitted by Jenna on 04/09/2008

Just came back from a weekend in Belfast and as Fibber Magees was very close to the hotel we stayed, we spent most of the weekend there!!! The entertainment was very good and got the crowd going. BUT I must say the bar staff need a course on customer services, both Friday and Saturday night there were a few different faces behined the bar and a few staff (not all) were very rude and abrubt and made it clear that they will serve who they wanted to and not who was next and they didnt even mind telling you that either. Overall a very good pub with good entertainment, friendly customers BUT found bar staff to be very rude.

Submitted on 18/03/2008

Hi John, they are two fellas called McForien and Duv or else just McForien Duv - I don't know which or what it means. They are class craic, they play most weekends in Dukes hotel and only in Fibbers every once in a while. I wish they did get a regular slot down here though cos they always make it a great night. Good luck.

Submitted by Regular on 25/02/2008

Went to Fibber Magees on Saturday night and two young fellas were playing an acoustic folk set. Unbelievable, I want to know where I can see them again, I asked the bar staff and they didn't seem to know. Can anyone help? Thanks

Submitted by John Mackin, Derry on 18/02/2008

I LOVE THIS PLACE TO DEATH, BUT I WISH THEY WOULD GET SOME NEW ACTS IN FIBBERS. SAME NAMES AND FACES FOR YEARS NOW. OK FOR VISITORS - BUT A BIG YAWN FOR THE LOCALS.

Submitted by regular on 30/01/2008

B R I L L I A N T !!! What a place pure dead brill.

Submitted on 25/01/2008

Great craic! Very busy! but bar staff were well drilled and made light work of the ques. :)

Live acoustic music happening too, so i was made up!

Friendly crowd and theres Robinsons through the doors too!

Great Bar 8/10

Submitted by Tomski on 21/12/2007

The greatest bar in Belfast and probably the world! Great music, good company and a fantastic atmosphere, particularly Friday and Saturday nights (who cares if you're packed in like sardines!).

Can't wait wait to be back on 28/29th December.

Submitted by Tony Mac (Nottingham) on 06/12/2007

The drink is expensive, the Guinness is just alrite too. It can be good durin the wk when it's quieter but at the weekend you can't move! Much older crowd than other bars, or discerning, shall we say. Not a bad spot, I'd recommend it to tourists.

Submitted on 06/11/2007

There's NEVER a bad night in Fibbers, 7 days a week. Except poss Thurs & Sat when the band "Blackstaff" are playing. Really crap. Needs replacing. Played here far too long and too often. But not that bad if you're not fussy about what you hear?

"The Craic is 90". Sunday is usually the best night. Busy but not overcrowded. Highly recommended.

Get in early (ie before 10pm) if you need a seat. This place packs in really quickly.

Submitted on 15/06/2007

I visited this venue whilst working in Belfast, I had a great evening, was made very welcome, great live music, great ale, great company, Highly recomended, Phil Planet.

Submitted by Phil on 04/01/2007

Hi. Just got back from a weekend in Belfast. Tried the local pubs including The Crown(Belfast Ale is pretty strong) but the best place i went to was Fibber Magee's. Great company, great music, great ale. Definitely going again.

Submitted by Gareth Jones on 27/11/2006

Went to belfast 2 year ago and i sampled many pubs over the weekend but this one stands out above the rest. Great beer, great music, great environment, most importantly great customers (local and visitors just like me).

Submitted by jayne on 14/10/2006

Great place to go just love Finnigan's Wake any time I'm in Belfast have to go there before I go back,its a must

Submitted by Irene Essex on 16/09/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

© 2014 Belfast Bar
Site Map | XML Site Map | Template design by Andreas Viklund