The Morning Star

36 reviews | Updated 03 December 2015 | Added 10 August 2007 | Request To Edit Details

  • The Morning Star

Halfway down a narrow lane,hidden in the entryway between Ann Street and High Street in the centre of Belfast, the Morning Star, one of the citys most historic pubs, first built as a coaching stop for the Belfast to Dublin post.
Theres a traditional bar downstairs and a cozy velvet and wood-panel restaurant upstairs.
Also notable is the steak menu; youd be hard-pressed to find a larger assortment of aged beef cuts. Sizzling steaks arrive at the table on red-hot cast-iron skillets and are served with a flourish by the friendly staff.
lies what is most possibly the world's best eating and drinking house. God himself has not yet given us the word to describe the quality that will amaze punters while visiting this piece of Belfast history. The staff are amazing and the locals are even better. With lunchtime carvery from £5 per plate there's no better value in Belfast.

Street View of The Morning Star

Modify the Street View of The Morning Star

Map Showing the Location of The Morning Star

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of The Morning Star.

Is this the wrong position for The Morning Star? If you think so, then modify its position.

Get Directions to The Morning Star

Click / Tap the button above to get directions from where you are to The Morning Star.

Customer Comments and Reviews of The Morning Star


There now follows 36 other reviews of The Morning Star. You can also ... Add a Review

Great night here last week with a great fillet steak, whiskey and irish coffees to finish it off. A proper Belfast Bar with great food and service. Highly recommend.

Submitted by Jimmy on 24/01/2017

lovely traditional bar witch is hard to come by in BELFAST staff are first class drink is reasonable food is good but a bit expensive overall a super bar

Submitted by joseph on 03/12/2016

a proper bar of Ann Street drink is spot on not to expensive but sadly the food is very skimpy and rather expensive but overall a PROPER BAR i will be back for that perfect GUINNESS

Submitted by stanley on 30/07/2016

now hears a bar you must see super staff the drink is excellent as for the food very small portions witch was a let down never the less worth visiting

Submitted by sammy on 29/04/2016

In here recently and got a had a great time, some live music, craft beers and a few halfins (whiskeys). Also had a burger here too the week after. All great and would highly recommend. Staff were lovely too.

Submitted by Pete on 06/04/2016

love this bar as i like good food. the drink is spot on

Submitted by steward on 25/03/2016

i must say this bar is top of my lists a good quality bar food is a bit expensive but you get what you pay for

Submitted by danny boy on 29/11/2015

played out

Submitted by walter on 17/09/2014

good traditional bars are hard to come by but this one is a cracker the barmen are spick n span the service is first class the only downfall is the food kids portions at adult prices

Submitted by davy horner on 23/01/2014

very dreary bar could do with a bottle of domestos in the toilets

Submitted by willy mc hugh on 19/01/2014

great bar in the centre of belfast the staff are excellent drink supurb as for the FOOD the portions were to small and for the price over inflated do these bars not understand there is not a lot of money about people will just go else were

Submitted by danny fitzpatrick on 27/10/2013

a super bar for a drink but as for the food i dont think so not enought of it sorry

Submitted by danny graham on 01/10/2013

went into this bar for a bite to eat could not believe it a bite was what i got never again £9 for a bit of meat and a spoon full of mash [i dont think so] never again

Submitted by stan the man on 05/12/2012

what has gone wrong with the morning star the food is over rated the portions have got got to small you will soon need a microscope to find it the drink is spot on otherwise not a bad bar for a drink

Submitted by graham miller on 17/07/2012

I have been a frequent visitor to the Morning Star over the years and it is a great bar atmosphere wise but in my opinion the food has become very overpriced and is not as good as it once was. I went this week and thought that £4.50 for a starter of two small pieces of ciabbata, £9.00 for a bowl of stew and £9.00 for a small chicken breast on a very small dollap of champ was not value for money. I also thought the food was overcooked, bland and very chewy. I brought visitors from England recently and they winced at the prices, the stew especially. The Morning Star is a popular place but if you start taking customers, prices and standards for granted they often slip and people will go elsewhere. I really do think they need to review their prices and up the quality again if they want to keep existing customers and attract new ones.

Submitted by Stevie, Belfast on 11/07/2012

in belfast on a well deserved break visited this bar on a friday night ordered steak the best steak i have tasted for many a day but was disapointed with the chips not enought of them otherwise a super bar

Submitted by dave on 05/07/2012

[wow] give this bar a go staff first class very clean i cant fault it and for the food first class

Submitted by willy john on 21/04/2012

this bar takes me back in time drank in this bar 25 years ago moved to london promised to come back and admire this gem again and to the barmen the best enjoy having a natter with the locals bon voyage

Submitted by stan on 23/03/2012

now this is what i call a public house bar staff spick and span hospatality and service first class a one of belfast should be proud of carlesburg `[2.75] a pint need i say any more cheers

Submitted by jamesy on 08/03/2012

one of the best public houses in belfast the old bars are the best bar staff always have a natter with you even if they dont like you food is superb and you dont get ripped of could do with a bit of diddly dee music at the week ends ps ill be back

Submitted by sean og on 24/02/2012

super bar hard to come by in belfast food super staff excellent pitty the owners cant seam to keep them as the bar staff disapear every time i go in wats wrong seamus

Submitted by rab on 08/01/2012

This is one of the best bars in Belfast. The bar staff are excellent- friendly and efficent. Food is v good. Also the customers are friendly-Too be honest I would struggle to fault it.

Submitted by paul on 04/12/2011

THe morning star is by far one of the best bars in Belfast. Food is top notch and staff are friendly and professional. Will be back- also great for sports.

Submitted by Happy customer on 06/06/2011

My grandfather featured in a television advert for guinness and it took place in the morning star. Can anyone tell me where I could find this advert

Submitted by clive mcmullan on 17/04/2011

Was there a few weeks ago and had a ball, the buffet lunch was outstanding value and the staff were very friendly, The bar staff are as good as any in belfast and always try to make you feel welcome.

Thank you for a great day out

Submitted on 21/03/2011

Great food, at good prices, clean, friendly bar.

And the steak is great, must taste it!

Submitted by Jozefboi on 13/01/2011

nice little waitress great food at good prices!

plus 10p off for every Irish winner, = brilliant day out

thanks

Submitted by ---- on 27/03/2010

Excellent food love the buffet luch. Good prices would not pass it when in Belfast.

Submitted on 06/03/2010

best steak ive ever had!

thanks

Submitted by unknown on 04/12/2009

Great food, at good prices for belfast!!

lovely bar staff and waitress

great crowd ill def be back in for more!

Submitted by Catherine Deany on 12/11/2009

the morning star has poor food, an the bar man r too slow i wouldnt evan call them bar men, but the waitress they were nice an friendly, worest pub ever, ill b telling my mates not too eat here.

Submitted on 09/09/2009

The food wasn't great. Drinks were expensive. The bar was just dark and depressing

Submitted on 13/07/2009

I have been going here for over 20 years, I defy anyone to get better food at better prices anywhere in Belfast, seafood and steak superb, Guiness excellent.

Submitted by Elizabeth on 27/02/2009

gr8 food,best steak iv ever had

Submitted on 19/12/2008

Brilliant atmosphere with fantastic food and drink. Lovely waitress called Ulga.

Great crowd after 10 on saturday

thanks

Submitted by Marie Ahrens on 13/08/2008

Lovely pub. Lovely waitress called Caroline! Anyone know her, tell her Keith was asking about her!!

Submitted on 26/03/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

Contact Details

  • Web Site http://www.themorningstarbar.com/
    Category Traditional Bar
    Address The Morning Star
      17-19 Pottingers Entry
      Belfast
      BT14 DT
    Phone Number +4428 9023 5986

Rating

  • Current Rating : 53% (33 Votes)

    Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

    Vote