Belfast Bar

Reviews Bars, Pubs and Clubs in Belfast, Northern Ireland

The Glenowen

27 Reviews | Updated 01 March 2011 | Added 10 August 2007 | Edit Details

Modify the Street View of The Glenowen

The Glenowen in Andersonstown.

Information and Contact Details

Web Site http://www.theglenowen.com/
Category Bar
Address 108-112 Glen Road
  Andersonstown
  Belfast, County Antrim
  BT11 8BH
Phone Number +4428 9062 9480

Map Showing the Location of The Glenowen

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of The Glenowen.

Is this the wrong position for The Glenowen? If you think so, then modify its position.

Ratings

Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

end barrating of The Glenowenend bar51/100 45 Votes

Customer Comments and Reviews of The Glenowen

There now follows 27 other reviews of The Glenowen. You can also add a review yourself.

Had lunch there with friends on May13, 2014..best lunch I've had in a while, we all enjoyed it and the service. Will stop in again on next visit.

Submitted by Marge USA on 08/06/2014

Do do glutenf free I'm going there christmas diner

Submitted on 24/10/2013

a great wee resturant i wouldnt take my family any where else the food is lovely my kids will opt for nowhere else other than there cuz they love there food=, friendly staff

Submitted by gerry on 16/06/2012

a good bar that has respect for its custumers hard to come by nowadays must say the food is first class

Submitted by joan mick on 16/04/2012

the bar and resturant no complaints the disco down stairs is a big no no bad atmosphere a big disapointement better sticking to the bar up stairs

Submitted by desy on 28/03/2012

had been told to try the glenowen resturant heard good reports about it me and jo had one of the best meals for a long time we tried the 2 course meal glass of wine for a [tener] couldent finish it plate stacked with real food sorry goodfellows and the temple you had ur own way for to long match that ha ha changed times

Submitted by ann and jo on 14/03/2012

one of the best bars in belfast the best bar men waiting staff i have ever come upon and the food see what u get for a tener try the 8 ounce burger with all the trimings u will feel as if u r six months pragnent and a pint to wash it down 10 out of 10 see u on saturday as usual

Submitted by bar fly on 04/03/2012

ballymac food twice the price plus u need a camel to get there dont be fooled glenowen inn the best in the west same owners

Submitted by mary o on 26/01/2012

the glenowen three chears resturant and food impressive knock spots of the over priced ballymac sister resturant full marks many thanks

Submitted by seamus on 17/01/2012

what a turnaround changed times food great staff on there toes super

Submitted by wee joe on 10/01/2012

went to the glenowen sunday with my wife and grandaugher for a meal the food was excellent the service 1st class changed times as the new owners have sorted it out once and for all first class ile be back ps dont tell everybody or ile have to wait for a table next sunday first class

Submitted by rabedoo on 09/01/2012

Went for a lovely quick pint on saturday afternoon , food was superb also

Submitted by PB on 11/09/2011

Went the other night, great deal £9.95 for 2 courses and a glass of wine/still or sparkling water. Usually with such deals places cut on portions, but everything was big and tasted really good. Would recommend.

Submitted by Chrissie on 25/02/2011

Decided against the overpriced Ballymac and ended up in the Glenowen instead. Brilliant deal on 2 courses! Recommend the Burger with onion rings and pepper sauce...yum!

Excellent staff!

Submitted by Marnie on 27/10/2010

fri sat good niter good doormen

Submitted by peter on 19/07/2010

£3.15 for a pint you would not even pay that in the town.

Submitted by So Called Local on 14/02/2010

An institution in the west with some of the older bar-men being the friendliest

Submitted by brianboru on 13/08/2009

a friendly and family orientated ambience. something for everbody, 18-80.... several bars.. function rooms, accessibility is great. have taken friends who have been in wheelchairs, and its perfectly accessible and manageable.. something which is rare in belfast restuarants nowadays..

Submitted by fred on 21/05/2009

Great spot for a bit to eat and a few drinks everything you'd want from your local nice staff good food clean and comfy

Submitted by seedall on 12/02/2009

me an my family go to the glenowen an we love the free burgers on a saturday the people there are really friendly the barr staff are always cheerful which is great to see you will be seeing a lot more of me in the future xxx

Submitted by alice (bo) on 14/01/2009

This is my local restaurant and now one of my favourites. It has come along way from a time when the owners seemed to bask in the success of it's sister site the Ballymac and largely ignored the fact that the Glenowen was nose-diving into the ground, largely due it seemed to a lazy chef serving what friends described to me as "prison slop". Now though, a new open kitchen of young, energetic chefs are serving what is often a packed house. It doesn't pretend to be something it's not and that suits us locals fine. We don't want fussy waiting staff asking us every 5 minutes if we're OK, and yes it's busy - simply a fact of life when somewhere so small becomes so popular - of course if you go on a busy day like Mother's Day or New Year's Day you're mad!!! But for the odd Sunday or a weekday lunch, a better steak or salmon fillet I dare you to find elsewhere in West Belfast! If I was rich I'd eat there everyday!

Submitted by LL on 17/07/2008

Have been going to the Glenowen for years, and always enjoyed it, and loved going there for a meal, but recently I have been very disappointed in the food and service. Was there in January 2008 and I don't think I'll be back. Saying the Service was slow was an understatement. I received my steak (nothing else) ... had to eventually ask for the rest veg and chips - chips were cold, veg was hard, and the steak ended up was too cold to eat, cos I waited so long. Kids wanted to take me there for Mothers Day, but I told them NO! - anywhere but there! - Sorry Glenowen, I've been a punter for years, but now I'm looking elsewhere.

Submitted by Kate on 27/02/2008

THE GLENOWEN IS CLASS NEW CHEF LOCAL BOY REALLY GOOD REALLY SPRUCED THE FOOD UP I GO EVERY WEEK LOVELY ATMOSPHERE AND THE WAITRESSES IN THE REASTAURANT NOT BAD LOOKIN THEY KEEP ME GOIN BACK

Submitted by ANDY on 22/10/2007

great bar for watching the football. kids kept under control. great food, bar staff

Submitted by susie on 13/09/2007

If your going to go then order there lasange its great!!(best i have ever had as its home made) me and the boyfriend prefer there as the service is good and its a really nice peaceful place to go and have a drink after your meal. i would give the resturant a 9/10 :):):):):)

Submitted by Danielle on 13/02/2007

Had the chicken goujons and onion rings both of which were obviously processed and deep fryed. They were horrible and tasteless

Submitted by Patrick Green on 01/12/2006

After the recent refurbishment the premises not only look better but the service has also improved, I will definitley be back.

Submitted on 07/11/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

© 2014 Belfast Bar
Site Map | XML Site Map | Template design by Andreas Viklund