The Empire

34 reviews | Updated 21 December 2009 | Added 08 June 2005 | Request To Edit Details

  • The Empire

The Empire Music Hall is a live music venue in a busy area of Belfast. The Empire,which was once a church is located beside Botanic Railway station.

The bottom bar serves great value food and, at night, becomes a hive of activity for beer connoisseurs. During universtity term time (September - June), Belfast\'s longest running comedy club attracts top acts attempting to win over one of the toughest audiences on the circuit.

You can also find a range of other live acts at the Empire, so check the website for a list of upcomming dates.

The bar downstairs is a good spot for a quite pint during the day and you can catch the next train home!

Street View of The Empire

Modify the Street View of The Empire

Map Showing the Location of The Empire

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of The Empire.

Is this the wrong position for The Empire? If you think so, then modify its position.

Get Directions to The Empire

Click / Tap the button above to get directions from where you are to The Empire.

Customer Comments and Reviews of The Empire


There now follows 34 other reviews of The Empire. You can also ... Add a Review

Attended the Elvis spectacular last night came out of the downstairs bar with our drinks the bouncer told us yes go round join the queue and you can take ur drinks with you !! got to door of the event and another bouncer was so rude and told us to drink them before we could go in !!! after I told him that the other bouncer let me out with them and that it was there lack of communication with each other he eventually agreed on this occasion to let me in. I think the empire should get there security staff to communicate with each other better and maybe take a course in people skills and learn how to speak to people !!

Submitted by Allison shields on 15/01/2017

I had been to Belfast twice before and walked padt thinking what a great place it looked. This time I got to go in! You could swear the place had been there since the early 1900's . Great atmosphere. Wehad a £3 pizza with our drink. Very tasty! Glad I went. They have some great shows there too :-)

Submitted by Annwyn on 03/08/2014

We had a fabulous night in Belfast on Saturday night, we took the package at the Cresant Hotel and had a fabulous meal followed by Guns2Roses at the Empire, its been awhile since we were at the Empire and was surprised to read the comments below in regard to staff. The gorgeous barman at the top bar couldnt have been more pleasant and very efficient, the bouncers were pleasant and smiled as we went for several smoke breaks. I observed one bouncer babysitting a young man who was obviously out of his head, he stayed with him held him up and made sure he didnt hurt himself. Will def be back only complaint is the band werent up to scratch and they definately need a new Axyl

Submitted on 29/01/2013

i agree with some other people please if u own the empire have a word with the bounchers they make you feel your walkin through customs with 45000 fags in your case a smile and hola would be better

Submitted by jimbo on 30/11/2011

Used to be a regular, have completely stopped going. Never drink when i'm there as i'm always designated driver so am always sober....stopped going cos of the 'bouncers'...complete mongs with severe attitude problem who you'd end up getting into bother over...tried complaining once to bar manager...complete waste of time

Submitted by Mark on 22/10/2011

I really love this pub. They always have great music like blues guy on Thurs and Ken Haddock sunday band. I think the staff are very friendly. Good for a night out and i go there to watch the ireland rugby matches, luv it. Dont notice the doormen much, theres never any bother.

Submitted by John on 21/08/2011

totally agree with comments below about door staff- stand and text or facebook all night on their phones, dont even look up at you walking in, cretins. bar staff are ok but dont smile or look like they are enjoying their job in the slightest. toilets are stinking and the whole place has gone really down hill. if only ken haddock played somewhere else in beldast on a sunday night then wouldnt have to suffer the empire at all!!

Submitted on 15/08/2011

Comments on the bouncers very accurate... totally unacceptable in attitude and manners. Could not recommend a night at the Empire to anyone...

Submitted on 19/06/2011

the Empire used to be one of my favourite places. One of the few places you can actually see a rock band these days! Having said that, the true rock bands are getting thin on the ground. Now its tribute bands for all kinds of crap bands. Keep it rock!

In fact give a slot to Willie Burns (with band) or even Paul Deane band. Where can you see those guys play these days?

Glamorama on a fri night used to be good, until the 'gold chains and no brains' crowd discovered it. Last time I was there it was drunken middle aged hoods stumbling round, weighed down by Argus jewellery, annoying the life out of everyone. Bouncers of course do nothing about these halfwit 'da' types.

So sadly I gave up on those Fri nights.

So in my opinion its kinda gone to the dogs a bit.

Submitted by Belfastbred on 08/03/2011

Agree with all comments below on the doormen here having major attitudes.

Submitted by Dylan on 16/02/2011

Bouncers at the Empire are a disgrace! We visited Belfast recently for a friend's 40th birthday

Submitted by BB on 15/02/2011

glamslam smashing night

Submitted by bangor boys on 08/01/2011

it is haunted i was down stars at a gig it was the end of the night iwent to the toilets ther was no one else ther when i was leaving the bath room the doorman was leting people out the main doors this stops the toilet doors from opening in the gap in the door the doorman asked me to wate a minute i said ok and closed the cap inthe door somthing made me turn round when i did ther was a figure of a man standing behind me i got the shivers and all icould think of to say was are you ok mate he said nothing iturned back round i did not feel scared or that he was going to harm me. the figure had dark hair he was wearing ablack suit whith butons each side of his jacket i did not turn round to look again but when the door man opend the door to let me out i waited for a moment no one else left the toilets.

Submitted by /? on 15/11/2010

Went for the house band night downstairs with a crowd of friends. Great music and atmosphere, as well as some dancing and whiskey! We'll definitely be back, absolutely superb!

Submitted by Craig on 22/09/2010

WHAT A NIGHT , FRIDAYS , ONLY ONE PLACE IN TOWN LOVE ALL THAT NOSTALGIC MUSIC , AND WHEN WE WANT A BREAK WE POP DOWNSTAIRS TO WATCH THE SALSA DANCING , MY HIPS COULDN`T TAKE IT . THE STAFF ARE ALWAYS NICE AND HELPFUL AND THE DOORMEN `YUMMEEEEEEE`,THEY EVEN GOT ME A TAXI AND HELD THE DOOR OPEN FOR ME .YES I AM OVER THE HILL AND IT IS NICE TO BE TREATED WITH RESPECT AND YOU GET THAT AT THE EMPIRE ALL YOUR STAFF ARE A CREDIT . WE WILL BE BACK , COUNT ON IT .

THANKS JO

Submitted by JO on 08/03/2010

great show on saturday night i went to see the rolling clones but the band Love You Live were great had a ball. im a big stones fan.

thanks!

Submitted by becky on 21/12/2009

i understand why people like this place because its really charming, but they need to seriously sort out their bouncers. Every time I go they throw rud and vulgar comments at me even when im with my boyfriend, they are rude to everyone, ive heard manys stories of them being unnesecarily violent to people and basically i think they are scum. i would recommend you change them asap, theyre horrible x

Submitted on 28/10/2009

GIVE THE GOOD ROCK BANDS A REGUALAR SLOT THE WAY IT USED TO BE... DEFT LEPPARD, LIMEHOUSE LIZZY, WHITESNAKE UK, AND NEW BANDS LIKE BACK STREET SYMPHONY, YANKEE ROSE, THE ESSENTIAL JOURNEY, SIXTERIA......

MAKE THE EMPIRE AS GOOD AS IT USED TO BE FOR ROCK FANS.....

Submitted on 02/09/2009

The Empire has a special place in my heart because it was where my boyfriend and I had one of our first dates. Four years on from that comedy club session and we're still together and still laughing. I love that it is supposed to be haunted, I love the comedy club and I don't go as often as I should because it is a great pub

Submitted by girlabouttown on 28/04/2009

I love this place, the Sunday nights are the best in Belfast. If it weren't for the bouncers I'd give it 100%.

Submitted on 12/02/2009

Seen a band called Rockaholics and they were fantastic can,t wait until they are on again will definitely go back. Great band........

Submitted on 22/11/2008

Not a bad place if you want a hassle free, mature type crowd who arent pretentious at all. Avoid the hell that is Glam-a-Rama on a friday night as its the same old regurgitated, kitsch crap they have been playing for what seems like the last 20 years! Good craic if you get a good cover band on and downstairs is decent most of the time.

Submitted by MarkyG on 03/10/2008

Would recommend comedy nite to anyone- great night out. Empire best place to be on a Tues night. After reading comments on the doormen dont know what to expect will be watching out for the friendly one!

Submitted by Anna on 27/05/2008

Had a great Fri and Sat nite at the Empire. Food was great value for money,music were great. Staff very friendly. Hunky doormen working here Simon really really friendly lol

Submitted by louise on 23/05/2008

Great nite out. Not my usual place to go but will def be going back not for the music or food but for the hunky doorman Simon I think his name is....anyone know if he is curious???? Lots of Kisses 4 Simon

Submitted by Jason on 23/05/2008

Great place to go with friends, fantastic music and Simon the bouncer is fit as!!!!!

Submitted by Gemma on 07/05/2008

WENT TO THE EMPIRE SAT NITE TO C ROLLING CLONES. FANTASTIC !!!

BAR STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND QUICK SERVICE.

WOULD GO BACK AGAIN VERY SOON!

Submitted by fiona on 14/04/2008

Went to the Empire on Saturday night saw a band called Strictly ballroom absolutley brilliant will go again

Submitted by omani on 07/03/2008

The door staff have a major attitude problem. Can't even smoke OUTSIDE,have to go down the steps to the main street and get bothered by down and outs looking for cash. Best to go to Bar 12 the bouncers are a lot more customer orientated !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Submitted by Dave visiting Belfast on 05/02/2008

I know what you mean about the doormen. it seems they just do a bit of eenie meenie, and if they think you're gonna buy a lot of drink, you're in.

I like the jazz nights a lot, there's a touch of class

Submitted on 07/01/2008

Somebody asked if it's really haunted. I'm not sure but there are some spooktacular bands play there on frightday nights. You can start off with a bit of grub downstairs first. They do a mean ghoulash and you can finish with Iscream before going upstairs. The doormen are a bit spooky. One acts the hard man but you can see right through him.

Submitted by Glenn on 11/12/2007

great crack and good music

Submitted on 25/03/2007

i love this pub, location is good, good range of people and its always friendly, ? is it really haumted?? lol

Submitted by clare buckley on 07/02/2007

I have been watching the Italy games for World Cup 06. Great bar with friendly people and staff. Good Guiness.

Submitted by stefano on 26/06/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

Contact Details

  • Web Site http://www.thebelfastempire.com/
    Category Traditional Bar
    Address The Empire Bar
      42 Botanic Avenue
      Belfast
      BT7 1JQ
    Phone Number +4428 90328110
    Disabled Facilities "Our staff are delighted to provide special assistance to anyone who may require it."

Rating

  • Current Rating : 48% (32 Votes)

    Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

    Vote