The Crown Bar

18 reviews | Updated 04 December 2015 | Added 10 August 2007 | Request To Edit Details

  • The Crown Bar
  • The Crown Bar
  • The Crown Bar

The Crown Bar, also called The Crown Liqour Saloon is probably the most popular Bar for visitors to Belfast. It is a Victorian Gin Palace owned by the National Trust and managed by Mitchells & Butlers plc.

The Crown Liquor Saloon in Great Victoria Street, Belfast is one of Victorian gin palaces which once flourished in the industrial cities of Britain. Today wonderfully preserved and owned by the National Trust, the Crown is still well used by the people of Belfast.

The Crown dates back to 1826, when the first train ran from Belfast to Lisburn. It was then known as the Railway Tavern and was owned by Felix O'Hanlon; he sold it to Michael Flanagan, but it was Michael's son, Patrick, who was destined to make it famous. A student of architecture, he travelled widely, and was impressed by what he saw. He arrived home with ideas to brighten up the old family bar.

Street View of The Crown Bar

Modify the Street View of The Crown Bar

Map Showing the Location of The Crown Bar

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of The Crown Bar.

Is this the wrong position for The Crown Bar? If you think so, then modify its position.

Get Directions to The Crown Bar

Click / Tap the button above to get directions from where you are to The Crown Bar.

Customer Comments and Reviews of The Crown Bar

There now follows 18 other reviews of The Crown Bar. You can also add a review yourself

The stereotypical tourist bar

Submitted by Graheam on 03/12/2015

Called in for quick bite to eat on a Wed. evening. Staff were very helpful and our food arrived in good time, but that's the only positive aspect of the experience. A child would have been left feeling hungry, such were the meagre portions. To make matters worse our meals were less than lukewarm and at £32, pretty poor value for money.

Submitted by KG on 09/09/2015

Loved It!

Submitted on 25/10/2014

tartan army footsoldier, try these links for the train and bus...

http://www.translink.co.uk/Enterprise/Enterprise-Timetables/

http://www.translink.co.uk/Goldline/Goldline-Timetables/Goldline-Service-200-Outbound/

Submitted by Belfast Bar on 27/01/2011

havent been yet but this bars been recommended to me. going to dudlin next month for the n.ireland v scotland match so hope to call in. am travellin via balfast. could somene give me train or bus times to dublin

Submitted by tartan army footsoldier on 27/01/2011

The toilets are stinking. Why is nothing being done about this? Not even an aplogy from the management, who MUST be aware of the problem. Its been on going for quite a while. No excuses any more.

Submitted on 06/08/2009

GREAT BAR, GREAT STAFF, FRIENDLY AND THE FOOD IS ENJOYABLE. PLENTY OF PEOPLE ENJOYING THEMSELVES AS WITH MY GUESTS.ALWAYS ENJOY THE BUZZ AND THE FRIENDLY FACES. FOR A BIT OF CRAIC AND A LAUGH JOIN IN AT THE CROWN.

Submitted on 27/03/2009

Its not a Belfast bar any more. Just full of tourists and travelling business types nowdays. Hardly hear a local accent in thre place. All the old regulars have left for peace and quiet and more reasonable prices. A shame.

Its resting on its fame a bit too much. The only special effort the staff make now is to try sell overpriced baseball caps to unsuspecting Japanese. Hence the other (true) comments aboot poor overpriced food and dirty toilets.

This place thinks it dosent have to try any more. Such a shame. I've been going there half my life, but I've lost patience.

Submitted on 16/03/2009

GREAT BAR, AWFUL STAFF(APART FROM THE LOVELY GIRL)

Submitted on 10/03/2008

Beautiful bar, but the food was the most awful we have eaten.

My son and I went in for a quick lunch at 1pm. Go have a look but be sure to eat somewhere else

I was told there was no children's portions because "Who would buy the other half" When my son's ham and chips did arrive it was horrible. There was thin ham slices which had been cooked on a dirty griddle and tasted of it.

I ordered Irish stew, although carrots and potatoes soup would have been a more truthful description. There were two small bits of burnt lamb. The soup was stone cold, I had to bring it back - they put it in the microwave. One should have expected better.

This food with 2 soft drinks came to nearly £16 and unfortunately, I had paid before I ate, as I wanted a quick getaway. I would have only paid for the drinks - never again.

Submitted by Traveller on 24/02/2008

3 Welsh men... We nipped into the Crown Bar yesterday lunch time for some Irish Stew and Guinness at the bar. We didn't want to leave! Such a great atmosphere, Staff were both friendly and attentive. Be sure to ask for the ever smiling Orala "golden lady" to serve you one of her special port drinks with cloves and lemons! We will return!

Submitted by MD on 10/01/2008

The Crown is much cleaner since they brough in the smoking ban.

Submitted by Tom on 27/09/2007

There's a news-story on the renovation (with nice pretty piccies) at http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/article2934419.ece

Work should be complete by the end of October, 2007.

Submitted by Malcolm Redfellow on 07/09/2007

Always good craic and plenty of people to offer you a free drink.

Submitted by RC on 19/07/2007

A good hike for me so I have to take a taxi which ups the cost of a bottle of Guiness. I find things dear enough.

Submitted by Richard C on 17/07/2007

we were a hen party and thought we would call in for a drink only to be told we couldn`t stay cos we were a party.

Submitted on 04/07/2007

The place is being heavily restored at the moment. Although still open for business, it's covered with scaffolding and very little light is getting through the stained glass windows.

Just a warning for visitors. Still well worth calling in for a drink, or for curiosity value. You can watch the conservators and cleaners at work while you have a pint in the gloom.

Should be well worth the wait when restored to its former glory. Sometime in Autumn 2007?

Check NI Tourist Board for details

Submitted on 13/06/2007

Have been to the Crown many times and enjoy the buzz about the place. Plenty of tourists visit and photogragh the bar, thankfully they don't go to the smelly dirty male toilets as the pub deserves better. Bar staff good and drink is well priced. I always call in when i'm in town but move on elsewhere after a few pints.

Submitted by Geoff Moira on 08/07/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

Contact Details

  • Web Site http://www.crownbar.com/
    Category Traditional Bar
    Address 46 Great Victoria Street
      Belfast
      County Antrim
      BT2 7BA
    Phone Number 004428 9024 3187
    Email 

Rating

  • Current Rating : 50% (44 Votes)

    Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

    Vote