Belfast Bar

Reviews Bars, Pubs and Clubs in Belfast, Northern Ireland

The Chester Bar

23 Reviews | Updated 18 May 2010 | Added 10 August 2007 | Edit Details
The

The Chester is found along the Antrim Road in north Belfast. The Chester has a number of venues to suit everyone.

Magintys Restaurant

Sun - Thurs 12noon - 9pm
Fri - Sat 12noon - 10pm
Daily Specials & A La Carte Menu
Two course Lunch: Mon - Sat £10.95
Meal For Two & Bottle Of House Wine £35.00 from 6pm


Public Bar & Tiger Lounge

11am - 11pm Monday - Tues
11am - Midnight Wednesday - Thursday
11am - 1am Friday - Saturday
12pm - Midnight - Sunday

Regular Live Entertainment and Fantastic Promos

Convenient onsite parking is available.

Information and Contact Details

Web Site http://www.thechester.co.uk
Category Mixture
Address The Chester Bar
  466 Antrim Road
  Belfast
  BT15 5GE
Phone Number 02890779612
Fax Number 028 90781796
Disabled Facilities Yes

Street View of The Chester Bar

Modify the Street View of The Chester Bar

Map Showing the Location of The Chester Bar

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth view of The Chester Bar.

Is this the wrong position for The Chester Bar? If you think so, then modify its position.

Ratings

Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

end barrating of The Chester Barend bar48/100 38 Votes

Customer Comments and Reviews of The Chester Bar

There now follows 23 other reviews of The Chester Bar. You can also add a review yourself.

Hi my family and I were in your restaurant on Sunday night about 8:30pm and are very disappointed with the service @ food. We were not offered any set meal (I didn't ask as I thought it had finished). The waiter let us order the combo starter a bottle of wine, 2 mains and a dessert. I order the 16oz rump steak and asked for it med. When it came out it was cooked well done and tasted like cardborad.when the waiter came to clear our plates I told him this. His reply was 'you should have said something'. I would of but no one came near us once our mains arrived (the 3 staff members stood behind the bar talking).Also the fact that I watched the chef's leave a about a min after our mains came out. My partner and I usually visit you about twice a month and after the time we'll not be back.

Regards

Stuart Nesbitt

Submitted by Stuart Nesbitt on 19/07/2011

We've been going here for several year now and we've never been disappointed. It's clean,, reasonably priced, staff are attentive

Submitted by Barbarella on 15/07/2011

went recently to have lunch with family.I could honestly not recommend to anyone,food terrible and staff were not much better

Submitted by tom bradbery on 04/05/2011

Some dude, i love the way you think, would you like to meet up for a few beverages some time?

Submitted by Some Chcik on 27/09/2010

Ha-ha lol yup ryan is a nice lad, he is a good mate of mine:)As for the Chester... It's pretty good especially the lounge as it's my local bar me and my mates normally go there for a few pints on weekends then after that we hit the town for the rest of the night.

Everything is good but sometimes the service can be poor.

Submitted by Some Dude on 24/09/2010

The floor staff in the Chester Bar/Lounge is second to none. The fella Ryan i think his name is, is a gentleman! I would..

Submitted by Some Chick on 21/09/2010

ive been goin to mcgintys for yrs as ive always loved the food.. but i went today n got roast beef (which i always order) it was so tough i cudnt eat it, the vegs were like a brick n the mashed spuds were like chalk, i was for the first time ever very dissappointed :(

Submitted by me on 19/07/2010

The Chester is great! My wee sis won Chesters Got Talent on Sunday - what a a star she is!!!! so proud of you love and the staff at the Chester where great. also love the food!!! keep it up

Submitted by Norah on 01/06/2010

The food is good,reminded me of school dinners.Only bad thing was the waitresses seem to spend more time talking about their night out etc.Whats that all about.Drink is a bit expenisve to.

Submitted by Alex Higgins on 07/02/2010

Every time I go I love it the food is great everytime i leave I keep thinking when will I be back

Submitted on 26/01/2010

chester is crap dont go.the drink is too expensive

Submitted on 13/12/2009

The only good thing about the Chester is the restaurant manageress. The waitresses are loud mouthed gobby wee millies who would rather stand and watch everyone eat while they talk about where they are going that night, than look after their customers. Food was however, quite good. Overall though the staff would keep me from returning there.

Submitted on 13/08/2009

i have been goin to the chester for years, myself and my friends are regulars in both the restaurant and the lounge. I have to admit the service is slightly slack in the restaurant, the food is still gr8 tho and the restaurant manageress is the most helpful and efficient person anyone could meet.

we love the lounge at the weekends, the crowd has changed so much from the nightclub days. music is excellent as is the talent surprisingly!(Manager is a hottie) the barstaff are brilliant and always up for a laugh. genuinly the place has changed for the better, it def gives any place in town a run for its money these days!

Submitted by love it on 31/01/2009

Went tothe Chester last week and had a gorgeous meal - was also served by a gorgeous waitress -

Ye-Ha. Me and the mates went into the lounge after, it was great crack and there was plenty of birds about. I'll be back

Submitted on 08/01/2009

The chester in the past year has changed for the better, new management are trying to make it the place to be, the team are enthusiastic and extremly helpful. myself and my friends are regulars and adore this bar and restuarant

Submitted on 29/08/2008

Visiting from Devon, we went to Mc Ginty's and Belle Vue Arms on consecutive nights and enjoyed the meals in both, especially the garlic sautee potatoes. As the name suggests, Belle Vue had the advantage of view but Mc Ginty's had the edge totally when it came to service. The manageress was attentive and had total command of events in the restaurant, the staff were mature, warm and professional, the ambience was great - the adjoining bar was also lovely! Will go to both on our next visit, cheers guys, Gerri and John Clay

Submitted by Gerri Clay, Plymouth, Devon on 24/08/2008

went to the chester on 24 feb 08 for a family celebration. The food was horrendous. The roast beef was soooo tough you could've broke a window with it. Mash potatoes were tastless and very lumpy. Lasagne with out flavour and very dry. Poor presentation. Had to ask the various waiters and waitresses 6 times for a drink that had been ordered. This is the 3rd time in as many months we have been for a family celebration. It has got worse each time. Thats it we will never be back.

What has happened to this place it use to be great.

Submitted by christina on 25/02/2008

I few years ago I would of definitly recommended the chester but not now. Giving large amounts of poor quality food is not value for money. It has went downhill and is no longer as popular as it use to be!!

Submitted by louise on 20/02/2008

i was there last week, had chicken an pepper sauce, an i disagree with those ppl, it was lovely, bit busy, staff could have been more helpful, but overall i enjoyed it, as did partner, shall b back soon

Submitted by karen on 26/10/2007

i used to be a regular customer to magintys, but recently the place has went down hill. the food isnt half as good as it used to be. its been awful the last few times ive been there. I dont believe it is value for money anymor on the al la carte menu..

Submitted on 03/10/2007

The only place i have ever been that makes veggie lasagne with salad as a filling!!!!!!! It looked suspiciously like the garnish on the side of our plates....yuk!! Go on down the road to the bellevue!

Submitted on 13/08/2007

the food here is great and not too expensive

Submitted by .. on 17/07/2007

the peppered chump steaks are great and the service is good too. love the banoffee

Submitted by regular customer on 21/09/2006

You can add your own review or edit the details of this page.

© 2014 Belfast Bar
Site Map | XML Site Map | Template design by Andreas Viklund